Unknown System Exception

Forum rules
When submitting bugs, include your Windows/3dsMax/GT version

Problems starting up GT? ->
Hold escape at startup to skip the autoupdater!

Unknown System Exception

Postby wandererwillow » Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:51 am

I've tried this on Win 7 x64 with both Max 2012 and 2013 x64, and both are getting the same error:

Unknown System Exception (during the Extruding Blocks process)

I've also had the same process give me "Unknown property: "name" in undefined". Each time when this happens the build stops dead.

To note, it will start splitting up the section and doing builds, but when it errors out it wont continue.

I've reinstalled, even upped 2012 to SP1, ran with admin rights, and I'm getting nowhere. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
wandererwillow
Member
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:46 pm

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby kilaD » Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:09 pm

Do you have the latest version
TEHY SAIDS I WOULD BE ARESTED IF I KEPT HAX0RING
User avatar
kilaD
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby HAC » Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:57 pm

Same problem. Max 2011, 32 bit (v13), Win 7 SP1, ATI 5570, Max running in Direct 3d graphics mode. Latest version of GT ( via updater).
GT will build, but causes an Unknown System Exception after extruding. Max cannot recover.

Thanks!
HAC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:55 am

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby kilaD » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:06 pm

The lite version has some bad memory managament going on..
Updating the GTMatLib uses a lot of memory in the current lite version,
so it won't work for 32 bit, only 64bit works.

GT lite will be updated when 0.5 is finished.
TEHY SAIDS I WOULD BE ARESTED IF I KEPT HAX0RING
User avatar
kilaD
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby HAC » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:08 pm

Looking at the first post, it can happen in x64 as well.. Is there a recommended amount of system RAM ?? (new pc perhaps soon)..
As an FYI, at the time of the crash, system had 1.4GB of free memory. Would seeing the crash dumps help?
HAC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:55 am

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby kilaD » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:42 pm

An" Unknown System Exception" i would think is most of the time a memory error.
You get the "Unknown property: "name" in undefined" when you have not updated the GTMatLib before you build.

Is there a recommended amount of system RAM ?? (new pc perhaps soon)..

Well, really i should update it. What happens is it creates a LOT of materials which are not being disposed.
64bit system seems to handle it, probably because there is no ( 2 or 4?) gig mem cap on x64.
I would recommend atleast 6gigs for 3dsmax in general.

You could try to create a new materialLibrary in the GTmaterials tab.
This will create a single texture in every folder(facades, 1stfloors etc).
Update the matLib and try to build. Use smaller textures if you're adding maps, like 512*512.

If that doesn't work let me know.
TEHY SAIDS I WOULD BE ARESTED IF I KEPT HAX0RING
User avatar
kilaD
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby HAC » Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:17 pm

Let me try that.. I would be quite happy without materials, for just the mesh creation..
I'll play around and see what comes up..

EDIT.. creating a new GTMatlib with as suggested (and trying one with all texture maps removed in it for any of the elements) produces the same error.. even after rebuilding the library..

Ah well..
HAC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:55 am

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby kilaD » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:15 am

Try to replace the scripts manually, get them here:
http://www.kilad.net/ghosttown/GTMainScripts_0.320.rar

On win7 the path to ghostTown would be something like this:
C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Autodesk\3dsMax\2012 - 64bit\enu\scripts\kilad\ghostTown

It may be that i've left out something. Does the splash screen say 0.320? Try it anyway.
TEHY SAIDS I WOULD BE ARESTED IF I KEPT HAX0RING
User avatar
kilaD
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:22 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Unknown System Exception

Postby HAC » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:52 am

Tried that.. same crash. Splash screen is indeed 0.32 Lite..
Thanks for looking into this..
HAC
Member
Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:55 am


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron